Databases
C/W MARS (Central/Western Massachusetts Automated Resource Sharing), the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems provide, in addition to the catalogs, the following on-line resources. Also, C/W Mars posts current lists of the most requested books in the C/W MARS network. This can be found at: www.cwmars.org/booklists/holdsw.html
African-American History Online (Facts on File)
Home Access - Log in with your library card number.
- Biographies, many with links to select quotes from the subject
- Events and Topics, such as court cases; legislation; key social, literary and artistic movements; daily life and living conditions; important organizations
- Primary sources, some excerpted and some full text, with brief introductions
- Timelines, including Slavery in America; Civil Rights Movement; and the Harlem Renaissance
- Images and Videos, including more than 1000 historical images with explanatory captions
- Maps and Charts
Provided as a benefit of our membership in CWMARS.
American History Online (Facts on File)
Home Access - Log in with your library card number.
Spans over 500 years of political, military, social and cultural history. Includes curriculum-based content. Features biographies of important and representative historical figures; events, themes, organizations, places and cultural developments; over 1700 primary source documents; timelines; overview essays outlining time periods; collection of more than 2500 images; maps, graphs and tables.
Provided as a benefit of our membership in CWMARS.
American Women’s History Online (Facts on File)
Home Access - Log in with your library card number.
- Biographies of of American women throughout history, from Bella Abzug to Zitkala-Sa
- Events and Topics, such as Affirmative Action, Crime and Violence
- Primary sources, such as Elizabeth Cady Stanton’s address to the New York Legislature and the report of the Glass Ceiling Commission
- Timelines by era
- Images and video gallery, including items such as Babe Didrikson winning the National Open (1948) and Sandra Day O’Connor answering questions during her Senate confirmation hearing (1981)
- Maps and Charts, including items such as Alcohol Consumption by Gender and Death Rates for Females under 45 by Race.
Provided as a benefit of our membership in CWMARS.
Gale Group Databases (InfoTrac)
Home access - Log in with your library card number.
Extensive collection of databases and periodical indexes, with many full text magazine and journal articles online.
Detailed descriptions of each database’s contents are on Gale Group’s menu page, available by clicking the links above.
Databases include:
- Academic OneFile
- Biography Resource Center
- Contemporary Literary Criticism – Select
- Educator’s Reference Complete
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- General Business File ASAP
- General OneFile
- General Reference Center Gold
- Health Reference Center Academic
- InfoTrac Junior Edition (for Grades 5 – 12)
- InfoTrac Student Edition (for Grades 9 – 12)
- InfoTrac OneFile
- Kids InfoBits (for Grades K – 5)
- Massachusetts History Online
- New York Times (from 1995-)
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems.
Grove Art Online
Home access - Log in with your library card number.
Grove Art Online provides access to the text of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. It includes 45,000 articles; over 1500 thumbnail art images and line drawings; links to searchable image databases and art images on museum and gallery web sites around the world.
Provided as a benefit of our membership in CWMARS.
Massachusetts History Online
Home access - Log in with your library card number.
Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Masschusetts history, both past and present, and include people, places, and historical events.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems.
Massachusetts Newsstand
Home access - Log in with your library card number.
Massachusetts Newsstand offers access to the following fulltext newspapers:
- Berkshire Eagle 2005 – Current
- Boston Globe 1980 – Current
- Boston Herald 1991 – Current
- BusinessWest (Chicopee) 1992 – Current
- Gazette (Haverhill) 12/31/92 – 8/9/97
- North Adams Transcript 2005 – Current
- Patriot Ledger (Quincy) 1991 – Current
- Plymouth County Business Review 1991 – Current
- Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg) 2005 – Current
- Standard Tiimes (New Bedford) 1/4/92 – 8/19/97
- Sun (Lowell) 2004 – Current
- Telegram & Gazette (Worcester) 1989 – Current
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems.
NoveList
Home access - Log in with your library card number
- Fiction reader’s advisory service: contains lists, reviews, feature articles, and more.
- Search by authors, plot lines, series, reading level, etc.
Provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners and MA Regional Library Systems.
Science Online
Home access - Log in with your library card number.
Science Online contains thousands of entries covering animal anatomy; anthropology and archaeology; astronomy and space technology; atomic physics; biochemistry; biology; botany; chemistry; computer science; earth science; environmental science; general science; health and medicine; human anatomy and physiology; marine science; physics; weather and climate. It includes diagrams, definitions, biographies, essays and experiments.
Provided as a benefit of our membership in CWMARS.